The process never ends

Yesterday I had an interview at a hospital for a regional rotation spot. A regional rotation is one where you stay at one hospital for the entire 3rd year for clinicals instead of traveling around to different hospitals after each core rotation. There are certain advantages about doing regionals. For one thing, you don’t have to look for housing every 4 weeks or worry about finding the best way to commute to different hospitals. Also, if you want to participate in clinical research, it would be much easier to stay at one hospital for the whole year. And because you get so familiar with the faculty of the hospital over the course of a year, obtaining great letters of recommendation would probably be easier. There are also some cons. If you want to get the BEST education from the best programs, you should do the lottery (non-regional) option. That way, if one hospital has a great medicine department but is lacking in surgery, you can pick and choose which hospital you want for each specific core rotation. Also, it’s good to see a variety of hospitals and experience how each one operates differently.

I applied to this regional hospital not because it was an amazing hospital (au contraire) but because it’s very close to my home. That was pretty much the only reason I wanted to do it. But after the interview yesterday and hearing how enthusiastic the current 3rd years were about their rotations, I couldn’t be more convinced about the quality of faculty and education that this hospital provides. Not to mention, the Dr. Diamond, the DME is an 80 year old man who started TouroCOM and is still running this program in full force. You can’t go wrong with someone who has that much experience in the field of medical education.

My interview was entirely strange. There were about 30 people there on interview day (the other 30 had their interviews a day before). They took about 6 people per group interview and split them between Dr. Diamond and the head of the surgical rotations department. I was placed into Dr. Surgeon’s group. At first I was relieved because I knew I would feel intimidated by Dr. Diamond, but once we got into the room, Dr. Surgeon just talked about the surgical department and DIDN’T ASK US A SINGLE QUESTION. Literally, he asked us where we were from and then that was it. By the end of the “interview” he said he had to rate us from 1-6 and wasn’t sure how he was supposed to do that. I prepared in my head a 2 minute spiel about myself before coming to the interview and wished I could have at least said that! I walked out feeling pretty confused. But I guess since we didn’t have a chance to sell ourselves, we also didn’t have a chance to mess up either.

After that, there was a q&a with some of the current 3rd years rotating at NUMC. For me, this was the highlight of the day. I was already mentally exhausted after preparing for this interview all night and day, and then being surprised that I wasn’t asked any questions at all, and now feeling really hungry. But the q&a got me really excited about the prospects of rotating through NUMC and woke me up a bit. Then we went on a tour of the hospital and after all that we went back home. Mentally exhausting day!

I obviously dropped dead on my bed when I came back and then headed to the city for a nice dinner at a filipino restaurant on the LES. I knew filipinos loved pork, but literally everything we ordered had pork in it. I started off with a beer called, “porkslap”. Then we ordered an array of family style goodies: sisig (fried pork head), steamed mussels that actually had pieces of pork in the broth, and red curry noodles. Then the waitress accidentally brought us pata (deep fried pork leg) instead of the lamb ribs we ordered. So there was pleanty of pork for all. After all that fatty goodness, a fresh bowl of halo halo to cap off the night and send me into itis heaven.

Leave a Reply

